Cross Country NWT names 2018 Arctic Winter Games skiers

Cross Country NWT is proud to name its provisional team for the 2018 Arctic Winter Games following the conclusion of Territorial Trials in Fort Smith from December 7-9.

Nineteen skiers and one alternate have been named following the trials, which offered athletes an early look at the venue which will host the main Arctic Winter Games event from March 18-24, 2018.

This roster will now be advanced to Sport North for final confirmation and remains subject to any appeals under the Cross Country NWT athlete selection policy for the Games.

Selected athletes are:

Junior Male
Nicolas Bennett
Donny Boake
Jack Panayi

Junior Female
Jailyn Louison-Edgi
Niva Stephenson

Juvenile Male
Tyson Green
Jack Kotaska

Juvenile Female
Emily Carroll
Kea Furniss
Ella Kokelj
Rae Panayi

Midget Male
Leif Aubrey-Smith
Joseph Curran
Makoa Kokelj
Morgan Young

Midget Female
Anais Aubrey-Smith
Moira Green
Shannon Mercer
Sarah Porter
Kira Young – alternate

Coaching staff (announced on November 24)
Stephen Dunbar – head coach
Kevin Durkee – assistant coach
Miriam Green – team manager

Cross Country NWT would like to thank the organizing committee and volunteers in Fort Smith for a successful hosting of Territorial Trials, and wishes the community all the best for the exciting Arctic Winter Games races ahead.